ADRSupport Community  

Go Back   ADRSupport Community > General Discussion > New Member Introductions

New Member Introductions If you just joined, please introduce yourself here. Please add a signature describing your spinal history (use the "User CP) and ask us how we can help you get started.

Old 11-23-2017, 11:50 AM

Default My First Post Thanks

Hello to all. Thank you in advance for all you have done to help others and myself gain insight regarding spine issues.

I am a 39 year old male, I live in San Luis Obispo CA. I am a concrete contractor by trade, I have a wife and two young sons, and also use my body surfing, diving, hiking, running, when my level of discomfort allows.

Two years ago I free fell down a wave onto the side of my head. I did nit hit bottom but the water impact tweaked my neck so far to the side that the neck immediately got hot and tingly, but no pain. I figured I was ok but two days later it stiffened up to the point of high pain and almost no flexibility. No MRI, 6 months of PT, Massage, got me 90% back.

Jump forward to Feb 2017, after a week of heavy lifting at work, followed by a week of sleeping in a Santa Barbara hospital chair with Grandma who had a stroke, my neck pain and stiffness jumped up to an 8 over a five day increase. It stayed for three months.

I have been working with a local Chiro that only does tissue work, no cracking. He broke down all the muscle adhesions around the neck area over a three month session, twice a week. This brought the pain down to a 3 but one day of working too hard and I flare right back up to a 6. For the past 3 months I have been not working to my normal ability, hardly surfing at all, it makes the neck tight, and definitely not the husband/father I could be without the constant discomfort.