ADRSupport Community  

Go Back   ADRSupport Community > General Discussion > New Member Introductions

New Member Introductions If you just joined, please introduce yourself here. Please add a signature describing your spinal history (use the "User CP) and ask us how we can help you get started.

Old 01-09-2018, 03:34 AM

Default Introduction. Trying to make a decision.

Hi everyone,

I have been battling back pain since 2009 when I ruptured my L3-L4 disc. Throughout the last 8.5 years I have had probably half a dozen acute flare ups where my back pain puts me out of commission from 2-4 weeks then gradually gets better. I have used rest, chiropractic, ibuprofen, and epidural shots for pain and healing. The pain and stiffness never go away completely between acute episodes, and overall my symptoms are progressively getting worse. Mri shows that I have ddd from L3-S1 with nerve compression at L3-L4 due to decreased disc height and a large disc fragment in the central canal pressing on the dural sac. Additionally, there is severe neuroforaminal narrowing at that level.

In the past I have only had low back pain, however after my most recent acute episode(Sept. 20) I have developed hip and leg pain as well that won't go away. I am getting to a point where my quality of life is suffering. I have been a very physically active person. I am a rancher by trade and my profession requires a lot of physical labor. I love to play and coach basketball. Additionally, I am the father of 4 kids ages 5-14. I want and need to be able to move with less pain than I have now.