ADRSupport Community  

Go Back   ADRSupport Community > General Discussion > Insurance Hell

Insurance Hell All insurance-related matters are here: Medicare, worker's compensation, appeals, denials, insights, wins, losses. PRICING is here too. Note: This forum has posts from 2006 forward. Older ones are in the Big File.

Old 01-27-2012, 01:27 PM

Question Appealing Tricare for C5-C6 ADR - significant atrophy - time is short

I am so glad to find you all. In researching data for my TriCare appeal, I found this great forum. Thanks to everyone. I'm sending in my donation today!
My Situation and Request: I'm an airline pilot, but also AF Reserve officer for over 28 years. I am on TriCare (Reserve Select). I was denied cervical arthroplasty on Dec 29, 2011 because it is still considered "experimental". My neurosurgeon tells me (as well as Medtronics) that TriCare approves this procedure for Active duty members at military hospitals.

DOES ANYONE HAVE ANY INFORMATION ABOUT WHICH MILITARY HOSPITALS AND MILITARY SURGEONS PERFORM THIS PROCEDURE?

I feel that my best shot at winning an appeal is to demonstrate that if TriCare approves of this procedure for one segment of their patient population, they cannot consider ADR experimental and unavailable for another segment. Any thoughts?